Guide to Star Wars canon


While wading through the treacherous universe of the Star Wars saga, you will inevitably have come across the word "canon", but just what does that mean?


What is Canon?

The short answer is that Star Wars Canon is the official story of the Star Wars universe.

The longer, more specific answer, is that the official canon consists of the Star Wars movies, The Clone Wars and Rebels animated TV shows, and any material published after 25th April 2014. 

There are a few exceptions to the above rule, and how we got here needs a little more explanation.


The Expanded Universe

Shortly after Disney acquired Lucasfilm and the Star Wars franchise, the Lucasfilm Story Group was created to redefine canon by decided which stories and events are officially recognised as being the true story of Star Wars. As a result, the vast majority of the Star Wars Expanded Universe (now known as Star Wars Legends) was stripped of it's canon status.

If you're not familiar with the Expanded Universe, it was a multi-layered monster of interconnected stories, some of which were more important than others. George Lucas and Lucasfilm did not originally set any standards when it came to canon, so by the early 1990s that job had been taken on by the publishing division, Lucas Licensing.

Unlike the equal status of the current canon, the Expanded Universe has several levels:

  • G-canon (standing for George or Gospel, depending on who you ask) included the movies themselves, and any statements or explanation from George Lucas himself. Anything that contradicted the movies was definitely not canon.
  • T-canon was created for The Clone Wars television series, and would have included other television projects, had they materialised.
  • C-canon, or Continuity canon, formed the bulk of the Expanded Universe. Novels, comics, games, cartoons, and television movies usually fell into this category.
  • S-canon is secondary canon, and was usually older material that predated efforts to ensure continuity. It was mainly used for reference where it wasn't contradicted by something higher up the list. Many older stories were promoted to C-canon.
  • D-canon was used for material from the Star Wars Detours animated series.
  • N-canon was not considered canon, such as the Infinities stories.


It's worth noting that George Lucas never considered the Expanded Universe to be part of his vision for Star Wars, and described the movies and the EU as being two separate worlds.

So there you have it, you are now fully armed to explore the Star Wars universe and know whether you are reading official canon or not!


User Feedback

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Similar Content

    • Canon Timeline discussion and feedback

      As you may know, I have been working on the Star Wars Canon Timeline.
      Please use this thread for any feedback or suggestions. I'll try and remember to post updates here too.
      For Star Wars Legends Timeline feedback please see this thread instead:
    • Legends Timeline discussion and feedback

      This is the discussion and feedback thread for the Star Wars Legends Timeline (formerly the Expanded Universe).
      If you spot any mistakes or omissions, or have any other suggestions for us, this is the place!
      For Star Wars Canon Timeline feedback, please see this thread instead:
    • Who Should Be Next?

      Well, with the news that Thrawn would be rejoining the Star Wars canon, I thought it might be fun for us to banter over who should be next from the EU/Legends to gain entrance into Star Wars canon, whether in film form or TV show form or other media form.
      I think you guys obviously know who I want. (But I find that one doubtful... depending on what and when we find out more about Luke's backstory post-ROTJ and pre-TFA).
      But what are some others?
    • LGBT character officially introduced to canon

      The new Star Wars canon will have it's first gay character added with the release of Star Wars: Lords of the Sith this April.Upcoming novel, Lords of the Sith by Paul S Kemp will introduce the character of Moff Mors, Del Rey editor Shelly Shapiro has confirmed. Shapiro described the character as an Imperial who is an "extremely capable leader" and "also happens to be a lesbian".

      Previous instances of same-sex relationships in the Star Wars universe have had a degree of ambiguity, such as Karen Traviss's addition to the decanonized Legacy of the Force series of Goran Beviin and Medrit Vasur, two Mandalorian men who were in a committed same-sex relationship and intended to marry.The reference was felt to be very subtle and many readers missed it completely.

      Same-sex relationships have also been explored in Star Wars gaming: BioWare's Knights of the Old Republic series allowed players to form relationships regardless of gender. But the message has been inconsistent, too: When the game series' spiritual successor The Old Republic launched, only heterosexual relationships were allowed, with the words 'gay' and 'lesbian' being censored with BioWare reasoning that they did not exist in Star Wars universe. The MMO's expansion pack Rise of the Hutt Cartel​ reintroduced same-sex relationships, but wa criticized for seemingly segregating the galaxy's LGBT citizens to a single planet.

      During an interview with Big Shiny Robot Shapiro welcomed the introduction of further diversity in the Star Wars universe. She stated that the addition of the character wasn't about making a statement, explaining that more diversity "just makes sense". Author, Paul S Kemp, similarly praised the new-found inclusiveness of the Star Wars universe.

      Star Wars: Lords of the Sith, by Paul S Kemp, is available from 28th April 2015.

      Click here to view the article