Jump to content


Timeline: 28 ABY Official Canon Novel Rating:
   (0 reviews)
  • Author: Claudia Gray
  • Publisher: Del Rey
  • Release date: 05/02/2016

Bloodline by Claudia Gray is a canon novel set six years before Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens and focuses on Leia and her place within the New Republic. The book features the birth of the Resistance seen in The Force Awakens as they come together to fight growing threat of the First order.

It was originally titled New Republic: Bloodline, suggesting that it may have been conceived as part of a series.


Publisher's summary

Witness the birth of the Resistance.

When the Rebellion defeated the Empire in the skies above Endor, Leia Organa believed it was the beginning to a lasting peace. But after decades of vicious infighting and partisan gridlock in the New Republic Senate, that hope seems like a distant memory.

Now a respected senator, Leia must grapple with the dangers that threaten to cripple that fledging democracy—from both within and without. Underworld kingpins, treacherous politicians, and Imperial loyalists are sowing chaos in the galaxy. Desperate to take action, senators are calling for the election of a First Senator. It is their hope that this influential post will bring strong leadership to a divided galaxy.

As the daughter of Darth Vader, Leia faces with distrust the prospect of any one person holding such a powerful position—even when supporters suggest Leia herself for the job. But a new enemy may make this path Leia's only option. For at the edges of the galaxy, a mysterious threat is growing....

  Report Entry

There are no reviews to display.

  • Similar Content

    • Master & Apprentice novel release

      The canon novel Master & Apprentice by Claudia Gray is released today.
    • Master & Apprentice

      Star Wars: Master & Apprentice is a canon novel by Claudia Gray. It follows Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi, during the time before Star Wars Episode I - The Phantom Menace.
    • Lost Stars

      Lost Stars by Claudia Gray is a young adult novel which was released as part of the Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens series that lead up to the release of Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens.
      Publisher's summary:
      Eight years after the fall of the Old Republic, The Galactic Empire now reigns over the known galaxy. Resistance to the Empire has been all but silenced.
      Only a few courageous leaders such as Bail Organa of Alderaan still dare to openly oppose Emperor Palpatine. After years of defiance, the many worlds at the edge of the Outer Rim have surrendered. With each planet's conquest, the Empire's might grow even stronger.
      The latest to fall under the Emperor's control is the isolated mountain planet Jelucan, whose citizens hope for a more prosperous future even as the Imperial Starfleet gathers overhead....
    • Bloodline

      I've been interested in this new Bloodline novel for a while, and I think i need to get my hands on it.
      Just been reading this article about some of the surprises in it.. So, spoiler alert, lol
      It's interesting to see how it links in worth The Force Awakens and Episode VIII.
    • Rogue One tie-ins announced at C2E2

      At C2E2 in Chicago this week, Del Rey and Marvel have revealed an accompanying prequel novel and 3-issue comic series to tie-in with upcoming Star Wars spin-off movie Rogue One.
      Del Rey's Elizabeth Schaefer announced the prequel novel for Rogue One will be called Catalyst and will release in the fall of this year, but sadly this is all we know so far as an unfinished cover was shown and the author's name remains a mystery.
      Schaefer also revealed a bit of information about July's upcoming second instalment of the Aftermath trilogy, Aftermath: Life Debt - "Before Han can settle down with Leia, he has one last debt to pay. This is a story of our favorite BFFs on Chewie's home planet." She also mentioned that Claudia Gray's novel Bloodline, set before The Force Awakens, focuses on Leia and her role in the New Republic and the rise of the Resistance.
      Marvel also announced a 3-issue comic series plus a one-shot in October that will provide further backstory for Rogue One.

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.