Jump to content

Aftermath: Empire's End

Timeline: 5 ABY Official Canon Novel Rating:
   (0 reviews)
  • Author: Chuck Wendig
  • Publisher: Del Rey
  • Release date: 02/21/2017

Aftermath: Empire's End is the final novel in the Aftermath Trilogy. It features the final battle of the Galactic Civil War at the Battle of Jakku, the debris from which can be seen in The Force Awakens.


Publisher's Summary

Following Star Wars: Aftermath and Star Wars: Life Debt, Chuck Wendig delivers the exhilarating conclusion to the New York Times bestselling trilogy set in the years between Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens.

As the final showdown between the New Republic and the Empire draws near, all eyes turn to a once-isolated planet: Jakku.

The Battle of Endor shattered the Empire, scattering its remaining forces across the galaxy. But the months following the Rebellion's victory have not been easy. The fledgling New Republic has suffered a devastating attack from the Imperial remnant, forcing the new democracy to escalate their hunt for the hidden enemy.

For her role in the deadly ambush, Grand Admiral Rae Sloane is the most wanted Imperial war criminal—and one-time rebel pilot Norra Wexley, back in service at Leia's urgent request, is leading the hunt. But more than just loyalty to the New Republic drives Norra forward: Her husband was turned into a murderous pawn in Sloane's assassination plot, and now she wants vengeance as much as justice.

But Sloane, too, is on a furious quest: pursuing the treacherous Gallius Rax to the barren planet Jakku. As the true mastermind behind the Empire's devastating attack, Rax has led the Empire to its defining moment. The cunning strategist has gathered the powerful remnants of the Empire's war machine, preparing to execute the late Emperor Palpatine's final plan. As the Imperial fleet orbits Jakku, an armada of Republic fighters closes in to finish what began at Endor. Norra and her crew soar into the heart of an apocalyptic clash that will leave land and sky alike scorched. And the future of the galaxy will finally be decided.

  Report Entry

There are no reviews to display.

  • Similar Content

    • Aftermath: Life Debt

      Aftermath: Life Debt by Chuck Wendig is the second novel of the Aftermath trilogy set between Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi and Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens.
      The trilogy follows the efforts to restore peace to the galaxy following the Empire's defeat at the Battle of Endor as a New Republic is formed from the former Rebel Alliance.
    • Aftermath

      Aftermath by Chuck Wendig is the first novel in a trilogy set between Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi and Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens. Aftermath was also part of the Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens publishing series.
      It follows the efforts to restore peace to the galaxy following the Empire's defeat at the Battle of Endor as a New Republic is formed from the former Rebel Alliance.
      Publisher's summary
      The second Death Star has been destroyed, the Emperor killed, and Darth Vader struck down—devastating blows against the Empire, and major victories for the Rebel Alliance. But the battle for freedom is far from over.
      As the Empire reels from its critical defeats at the Battle of Endor, the Rebel Alliance—now a fledgling New Republic—presses its advantage by hunting down the enemy's scattered forces before they can regroup and retaliate. But above the remote planet Akiva, an ominous show of the enemy's strength is unfolding. Out on a lone reconnaissance mission, pilot Wedge Antilles watches Imperial Star Destroyers gather like birds of prey circling for a kill, but is taken captive before he can report back to the New Republic leaders.
      Meanwhile, on the planet's surface, former Rebel fighter Norra Wexley has returned to her native world—war weary, ready to reunite with her estranged son, and eager to build a new life in some distant place. But when Norra intercepts Wedge Antilles's urgent distress call, she realizes her time as a freedom fighter is not yet over. What she doesn't know is just how close the enemy is—or how decisive and dangerous her new mission will be.
      Determined to preserve the Empire's power, the surviving Imperial elite are converging on Akiva for a top-secret emergency summit—to consolidate their forces and rally for a counterstrike. But they haven't reckoned on Norra and her newfound allies—her technical genius son, a Zabrak bounty hunter, and a reprobate Imperial defector—who are prepared to do whatever they must to end the Empire's oppressive reign once and for all.
    • Rogue One tie-ins announced at C2E2

      At C2E2 in Chicago this week, Del Rey and Marvel have revealed an accompanying prequel novel and 3-issue comic series to tie-in with upcoming Star Wars spin-off movie Rogue One.
      Del Rey's Elizabeth Schaefer announced the prequel novel for Rogue One will be called Catalyst and will release in the fall of this year, but sadly this is all we know so far as an unfinished cover was shown and the author's name remains a mystery.
      Schaefer also revealed a bit of information about July's upcoming second instalment of the Aftermath trilogy, Aftermath: Life Debt - "Before Han can settle down with Leia, he has one last debt to pay. This is a story of our favorite BFFs on Chewie's home planet." She also mentioned that Claudia Gray's novel Bloodline, set before The Force Awakens, focuses on Leia and her role in the New Republic and the rise of the Resistance.
      Marvel also announced a 3-issue comic series plus a one-shot in October that will provide further backstory for Rogue One.

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.